Great Houses of the South
Move your mouse over image or click to enlarge
Great Houses of the South Great Houses of the South

Great Houses of the South

  • Save $0


Author: Laurie Ossman

Edition: First Edition

Binding: Hardcover

Number Of Pages: 272

Publisher: Rizzoli

Release Date: 23-03-2010

Details: An exquisitely photographed collection of the great houses and mansions of the South.
In the tradition of Rizzoli’s Historic Houses of the Hudson Valley and Great Houses of New England, Great Houses of the South features a stunning array of newly photographed homes that range over three centuries and are distinctive examples of the architecture of the region. While in popular imagination the "Southern Style" is embodied in the classic Southern plantation house with its Greek Revival detailing—its stately white columns, wide porch, and symmetrical shape—the houses themselves are much more various and engaging, as shown in this important volume. From stately Stanton Hall of Natchez, Mississippi, one of the most magnificent and palatial residences of antebellum America; to Longue Vue House and Gardens of New Orleans, the luxurious Classical Revival–style home of Edgar and Edith Stern; to the fabled Biltmore of Asheville, North Carolina, the opulent French Renaissance–inspired chateau and Gilded Age estate of George Washington Vanderbilt, this lavish volume is comprehensive in scope and a landmark work of enduring interest to homeowners, architects, architecture historians, and all those who love fine architecture.

EAN: 9780847833092

Package Dimensions: 11.2 x 9.5 x 1.2 inches

Languages: English